Now most NHL officials are here in the game for one reason, to call a game fair and down the middle, which gives both teams, home and away a fair chance at winning the game, these days, the officials in this game we cherish have been biased towards teams which usually aren't any members of the original six, so this means Toronto, New York, Chicago, Detroit, Montreal and Boston, all of whom have had these types of officials in their games to cause the game to be in the favor of the other team.
For the most part this is not as bad as it seems at first, back when the league was at a mere 16 teams, the officials in game were fair and just, but since "He" came along, I'm not going to use his name again, since most people know who "He" is, has turned this game into a corrupt business sport, much similar to Basketball or Baseball. Let's delve into a few of the reasons why officials are just so plain corrupt these days to specific teams.
#1) Faceoffs - Every game I've seen up to this point has one thing in common, lousy face-off chances, since a face-off can swing the game in a team's favor and give scoring chances, but the consistent problem is the pre-faceoff's which the person who does the face-off consistently pulls back the puck, forcing a delay of play and forces two more players to come center and take the face-off in place of another player who may be better at this, now why is this, let's look at a face-off video as proof
Now if you use the first seconds of this video as a example of what a face-off should be, you'll see it's clean and consistent, but the problem is most officials in game tend to pull the puck back to draw the game on just a few seconds longer then it should, this is not a problem right, WRONG, it happens maybe 15-20 times a game, which adds up to a few minutes of extra time being aired, which means more revenue for the NHL as a whole, these sorta things need to stop immediately, since they are getting annoying.
#2) Penalty Calls - In a normal game of hockey, penalties are bound to happen for either team, but the issue with this is a minor infraction like a poke check these days can warrant a penalty, which let's face it can give the other opposing team a major edge with a power play goal chance, a Penalty is supposed to be a infraction against the rules of the game, if you were to send a guy flying onto the ice by tripping him with a stick, that would be a proper penalty, if he had possession of the puck that is. Major infractions can also be called at a given point or time, but the problem is the fact that we've seen officials call for the stupidest offenses in the game time and time again, a minor slash on a stick, a clean hip check, all of these examples have somehow warranted a infraction according to the officials, but the proper calls that should be made aren't being made at all, leaving the stupidest calls ever to be made, which gives the opposition a chance to score and give them a major edge as I've previously stated.
Is this a proper way of the game, no, it's not, it is getting to the point where the game is always lopsided in the favor of teams whom are liked by "Him" which is wrong, it's not a business, it's a sport which has spanned many decades and is a tradition here in Canada, which you are perverting for your own selfish gains.
#3) Play Stoppage/Offsides - Most games have these incidents occur, where the play is stopped for no particular reason whatsoever since the official lost sight of the puck, since that's how they work these days, officials aren't supposed to stop play for any reason except for the following.
#1) Offsides
#2) Icing
#3) Penalties
#4) Puck goes out of bounds
#5) A Goal is scored
#6) Glass screen getting shattered - This is a rare occurence and happens maybe once every 100 games, if your lucky.
#7) A goalie holds onto the puck
Other then that, officials aren't supposed to stop the clock for any other reason, which frustrates me to no end, since once a official loses sight of the puck, that's it, play is stopped which is wrong, play is supposed to continue regardless of losing sight of the puck or not, not to buy additional air time on tv shown games, which is ridiculous, since games have a set limit to air times, plus their given additional time in case, I mean "In case" of a Overtime period is needed to decide the game, then the game if necessary is given additional time as a whole. But to do this consistently like 10-15 times over the course of a single game, is just downright wrong,
In essence the game of hockey has become nothing but a business for the ones who are a part of the NHL board, including "Him" and the game boils down to money, where's the respect for the game, where's the love for the game, it's gone until "He" leaves the game forever and we return it to the way it used to be, anyways enough ranting for today, this is Vergil signing off.

No comments:
Post a Comment